Asia has had some of the strictest border restrictions and most of its countries are processing with a much more cautious approach to inbound travel. However, many countries in Asia are reopening their international borders and resuming tourism.

Here is the list of Asian countries that are resuming international tourism.

Maldives reopened its borders for international tourism on July 15th, 2020. The country is open for all international traveller around the globe with a 30-day free on arrival visa. Tourists only need to present a confirmed booking in a registered tourist facility and submit an online health declaration form within 24 hours prior to their departure.

Guideline for Restarting Tourism in Maldives

Cambodia has dropped its travel ban as of May 20th, 2020. However, it will be very difficult to enter the country as visa-on-arrival programs, e-visa, and tourist-related services are suspended until further notice as of June 10. The country also has additional strict requirements.

Entry Requirements for the allowed countries:

  • $3000.00 US Deposit to cover potential expenses related to Covid-19
  • COVID-19 negative medical certificate issued no more than 72 hours prior to the date of travel
  • Proof of medical insurance coverage of at least $50,000.
  • Upon arrival in Cambodia, health authorities require all travelers to undergo a COVID-19 test and wait to receive the laboratory results. Some travelers have reported waiting 24 hours in stark conditions while test results were processed.
  • Travelers will have to self-isolate for 14-days at their home under the supervision of local authorities.
  • Another COVID-19 test will be required on the 13th day of self-isolation

Indonesia(Bali) has announced that its international borders will be open on September 11th, 2020. All tourists arriving in Bali will be required to bring a negative Covid-19 test, otherwise, they will be tested upon arrival at their own expense.

The Indonesian government has yet to announce countries allowed and additional details on the reopening of its borders to tourists. 

Japan has closed its borders since March and is currently in the process of preparing to reopen its international borders for tourism. The country intends to first allow business travelers, investors, and other essential visitors from its published list of countries, then allow in students and finally general tourists. According to the Japanese government, they are planning to first reopen borders to:

  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Taiwan
  • South Korea
  • China
  • Myanmar
  • Singapore
  • Brunei
  • Laos
  • Mongolia

Malaysia has closed its international borders since March and is set to reopen in August 2020. As of July 1, the country is making an exception and allowing medical tourists to enter the country. The government has also agreed to allow patients from designated green zone countries to enter Malaysia for treatment. As of July 21, the current green zone countries are:

  • Brunei
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • New Zealand

Nepal will reopen its international borders on August 17 by resuming its international and domestic flights. The decision is taken just before the start of the autumn trekking season from September to November, which usually draws a third of the 1.2 million overseas tourists annually.

When the borders reopen, tourists arriving in Nepal must carry a health certificate. However, authorities are yet to give more information on whether they will only accept PCR tests or the time limit on when the test was performed

Srilanka has decided to delay the reopening of its international borders for at least two weeks until the middle of August at the earliest. Originally, the country as et to reopen on August 1, allowing tourists from all nationalities. 

Thailand has reopened its international borders to selected foreign tourists from July 1, 2020. 

The travelers allowed include:

  • Businessmen
  • Skilled workers
  • Those with Thai family
  • Those seeking Thai health services

Uzbekistan has officially reopened its international borders on June 15th, 2020. The country is committed to reviving tourism with “safe travel” guarantee and compensate tourists $3000 if they catch the virus in the country. Tourist arrival is categorized into three segments; 

The “green” countries; with a stable sanitary and epidemiological situation. People who have been in Japan, China, South Korea, and Israel for the past 14 days will not be subject to quarantines.

The “yellow” countries; people who have been in the European Union, Malaysia, Thailand, and Singapore for the past 14 days will be subjected to home quarantine for 14 days.

The “red” countries; people arriving from the UAE, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Russia, and other CIS countries will be quarantined in special institutions of Uzbekistan for 14 days.


The list of countries gradually increases as more countries are resuming tourism as they reopen their international borders.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window